Category Archives: Blog Writers

Scientists Question New York’s Crime Lab DNA Analysis

Many thrillers and murder mysteries rely on some aspect of DNA evidence to solve the crime. This is true in the make-believe world of written fiction as well as in movies and television. Certainly, it is true in the real … Continue reading

Posted in A How To Blog on Murder Plot Ideas, About James J. Murray, Blog Writers, Blogging, Designing Murder Plots, Developing Story Plots, Developing Storyline Ideas, DNA Testing Flaws, DNA Testing Tainted, DNA Testing Techniques Called Into Question, Fiction Based on Facts, Fiction Based on Real Life, Fiction Writing - A Believable Lie, Flaws in High Sensitivity DNA Testing Techniques, James J. Murray Blog, New Blog, New Research Technology, New York Crime Lab Crisis, Plot Development, Plot Ideas and Where They Come From, Story Development, Taj Patterson Case Appeal, Taj Patterson Trail, The Science of Murder, Unique Murder Plots | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Commas, Em Dashes, and Ellipses—Their Proper Use!

In a recent blog, I discussed how to properly use the three types of dashes in writing. Today, I’d like to further the discussion on punctuation marks, namely those used specifically to clarify or to emphasize a point. They are … Continue reading

Posted in A Writer's Psyche, About James J. Murray, About Murder, About Writing, Accuracy in Editing, Accuracy in Writing, Achieving Writing Perfection, All About Writing, AP Style of Ellipsis, Better Fiction Writing, Blog Writers, Blogging, Chicago Style of Ellipsis, Comma Use, Correct Use of Punctuation in Fiction Writing, Developing a Writing Career, Developing Better Writing Skills, Developing Writing Skills, Difference Between Commas, Ellipses Use, Ellipsis Use, Em Dash Use, Em Dashes and Ellipses, Grammar and Punctuation, Growing As A Writer, How to Use Commas Properly, How To Use Ellipses Properly, How to Use Em Dashes Properly, James J. Murray, James J. Murray Blog, Learning the Art of Writing, Mastering Your Craft, Murder Mayhem and Medicine, New Blog, Obsession with Proper Usage of the English Language, Practicing Your Profession, Prescription For Murder Blog, Proper Punctuation in Writing, Proper use of Commas, Proper Use of the Written Word, Punctuation Marks, Punctuation Rules, Rules of Punctuation, The Art of Storytelling, The Art of Writing, Tools of Fiction Writing, Writing As A Special and Rewarding Career, Writing Skills, Writing Techniques | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Emerging Viral Infections and Genetic Engineering – A Lethal Mix!

Yesterday, I posted an introductory piece regarding the launch of a new science thriller by an author friend of mine, Amy Rogers. The novel is called The Han Agent, and it promises to be another bestseller for Amy. I’ve read … Continue reading

Posted in 3D Printed Medicines, A New Science Thriller Novel, A New Thriller Novel By Amy Rogers, A Thriller Novel, About Author Amy Rogers, About Writing, Biological Warfare, Biological Weapons, Bioterrorism, Bird Flu Gone Wild, Blog Interviews, Blog Writers, Blogging, Lethal Virus Cure Research, Lethal Viruses, Medical Research Misadventures, New Blog, New Book Is Published, New Book Release, New Novel Published, New Novel Release, New Publication, New Research Technology, New Thriller, New Thriller To Download, Prescription For Murder Blog, The Han Agent Thriller Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Don’t Mess With Bird Flu: THE HAN AGENT by Amy Rogers

A good friend of mine, Amy Rogers, is launching a new book today, so help us welcome this new science thriller onto our bookshelves! “Fans of Michael Crichton, Tess Gerritsen, James Rollins, Robin Cook, and Richard Preston should check out … Continue reading

Posted in A New Science Thriller Novel, A New Thriller Novel By Amy Rogers, A Thriller Novel, About Writing, Biological Warfare, Biological Weapons, Bioterrorism, Bird Flu Gone Wild, Blog Interviews, Blog Writers, Blogging, Lethal Virus Cure Research, Lethal Viruses, Medical Research Misadventures, New Blog, New Book Is Published, New Book Release, New Novel Published, New Novel Release, New Publication, New Research Technology, New Thriller, New Thriller To Download, Prescription For Murder Blog, Th Han Agent Thriller Novel | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Hyphens and Dashes – The Dread of Misuse!

Hyphens and dashes are two distinctly different punctuation marks and a proper understanding of each will avoid embarrassing mistakes in your writing. Will anyone get MURDERED as a result of using the wrong one in the wrong place? No, but … Continue reading

Posted in About James J. Murray, About Writing, Accuracy in Editing, Accuracy in Writing, Achieving Perfection, Achieving Writing Perfection, All About Writing, Blog Writers, Blogging, Developing a Writing Career, Developing Better Writing Skills, Developing Writing Skills, Dreaded Misuse of Hyphens and Dashes, Em Dash Use, Em Dashes and Ellipses, En Dashes and Em Dashes, Grammar and Punctuation, How to Use Em Dashes Properly, Hyphens, Hyphens and Dashes, Hyphens and Dashes and Their Misuse, James J. Murray Blog, Learning the Art of Writing, Mastering Your Craft, Murder Mayhem and Medicine, New Blog, Obsession with Proper Usage of the English Language, Proper Punctuation in Writing, Proper Use of the Written Word, Punctuation Marks, Punctuation Rules, The Art of Writing, The Proper Use of Hyphens and Dashes, The Writings of James J. Murray, Tools of Fiction Writing, Use of Dashes, Use of Hyphens, Writing Skills, Writing Techniques | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Propofol – The Milk of Amnesia

Propofol is a short-acting sedative-hypnotic that’s used to initiate and maintain general anesthesia. It also decreases levels of consciousness along with a loss of memory for sedation during minor medical procedures. It is administered intravenously. The drug was discovered in 1977. … Continue reading

Posted in About James J. Murray, About Murder, About Writing, All About Murder, Better Fiction Writing, Blog About Poisons in Fiction Writing, Blog Writers, Blogging, Bloodless Death Scene Writing, Bloodless Death Scenes, Deadly Drugs in America, Deciding How to Kill Off a Character in a Novel, Designer Drug Deaths, Designing Murder Plots, Developing Better Writing Skills, Developing Storyline Ideas, Dramatic Murder Weapons, Drug Misadventures, Drugs For Murder Plots, Drugs That Create Memory Loss, Drugs Used For Murder, Drugs Used for Near Death Experiences (NDE), Drugs Used to Murder, Elements of Murder, Growing As A Writer, How to Choose a Murder Weapon for a Plot Idea, How To Write A BloodLess Murder Scene, Ideas for Murder Scenes, Interesting Murder Weapons, James J. Murray Blog, Killing Off Characters in Writing, Killing Off Characters in Your Novel, Lethal Agents and Murder, Lethal Chemicals in Murder Mysteries, Methods of Murder, Milk of Amnesia, Misuses of Propofol, Murder Mayhem and Medicine, Murder Weapons Discussed, Murder With Drugs, New Blog, New Methods of Murder, New Methods To Kill Characters in Your Novel, Pharmacy/Pharmaceuticals, Plotting Interesting Murder Scenes, Plotting Murder Scenes, Plotting The Perfect Murder, Prescription For Murder Blog, Propofol, Propofol and its Uses, The Science of Murder, The Writings of James J. Murray, Thrilling Short Stories, Unique Murder Plots, Unique Murder Weapons, Uses of Propofol, Ways to Murder, Writing Dramatic Murder Scenes | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Why Prescription Medications Are So Expensive

In last week’s blog, I discussed how patients can take back control of their medication costs. I suggested seven simple ways to reduce the costs of your prescription drugs. Taking steps as an individual to hold down prescription costs, however, … Continue reading

Posted in About Medications/Pharmacy, Affordable Prescription Drugs, Blog Writers, Blogging, Controlling Drug Costs, Increasing Costs of US Pharmaceuticals, James J. Murray Blog, Making Medications Affordable, Medication Cost Increases, Medication Safety Issues, New Blog, New Drug Discoveries, New Drug Manufacturing Methods, New Drug Research, Pharmacy/Pharmaceuticals, Prescription Drug Safety, Prescription For Murder Blog, Solutions To The High Cost of Drugs, The High Cost Of Medications in the US, The Pharmacy Profession, US Prescription Costs Per Capita | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments